Series: The Dying Earth

Author: Jack Vance

Rhialto the Marvellous (1985)
3.95 of 5 Votes: 3
Rhialto the Marvellous closes the initial collection of Dying Earth stories, as chronicled by Jack Vance, a master of invention who took me on an incredible journey through eons of history, hundreds of lost civilizations and quirky cultures, multicolored vistas of exotic lands, weird trees and ch...
The Eyes of the Overworld (1977)
4.16 of 5 Votes: 3
I have already gushed enthusiastic about the opening volume in the Dying Earth epic. It seems I should have kept some of the hyperbole in reserve for later books, as the appeal of the setting and of the characters show no sign of slacking with this second book. It's also interesting to note that ...
Cugel's Saga (2015)
4.24 of 5 Votes: 4
The second book in Jack Vance's Cugel saga, and third novel in 'The Dying Earth' series, 'The Skybreak Spatterlight' once again follows the rogue Cugel across fantasy wastelands in a world where the sun threatens to extinguish at any moment. Given the book's nature as a sequel, spoilers for the p...
Tales of the Dying Earth (2000)
4.16 of 5 Votes: 5
Nutshell: assorted losers use the always already imminent destruction of the Earth as an excuse for grave breaches of sense & decency; sadly, the destruction of this Earth is not presented herein.Though the volume designates a metonym by which the setting stands for a particular subgenre, the se...